Navigate / search

  • bestseller

    #1 Source of Polo News!

    The Leading Source Of Polo News Worldwide! The Leading Source Of Polo News Worldwide! Who is

  • billing

    Submit News

    The first, and only news site where the users can submit the news! The first, and only news site where the users can submit the news!

    Show Me

  • customers

    Connect With Others members can create a profile, message others, and comment on news articles.

    Join Now

  • zoom

    Find Old News?

    Looking for news about something from the past? Use our search function to find any news we have archived


Have you signed up yet?

Don't miss your chance to be a part the leading source of Polo News Worldwide. Create an account, submit your news, and join the conversation.

Click Here to or !


The Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series has wrapped up its latest season with resounding success. Each year the tournament reaches new heights. 2015 marked the first time ever that the World Polo Tour (WPT) upgraded the Tournament from "Challenge Cup" to the highly coveted "WPT Cup", meaning winners received 60 points. The 18 goal handicap competition is now the highest handicapped event in the Middle East, Africa and Asia, ranking it among the best polo tournaments worldwide.

 First founded by Mohammed Al Habtoor in 2009, the tournament has grown in tandem with the city of Dubai. It is now the premier regional polo competition of the year, and attracts VIPs, society figures, and senior corporate executives from across the GCC.  The Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series (Dubai Open) is now one of the largest tournament of its kind after Argentina, US and the UK.

The event is broken down into two tournaments; The McLaren Silver Cup, which was won by Ghantoot for the second year running, and the Julius Baer Gold Cup, which was claimed by Zedan polo for the first time. The Zedan team included Pablo Mac Donough, who is a two-time "Triple Crown Champion with La Dolfina". 

Habtoor Polo, led by Mohammed Al Habtoor, won the Hildon Cup this year, which is part of the McLaren Silver Cup, while Abu Dhabi Team took the Bentley Cup, which is played alongside the Gold Cup.

A total of 10 teams took part in the competition, including UAE Polo Team, whose patron is Her Highness Sheikha Maitha bint Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum.  

The Dubai Gold Cup Series, held under the patronage of HH Sheikh Maktoum bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Deputy Ruler of Dubai, is played under the banner of the Hurlingham Polo Association (HPA). 

The founder of the event, Mohammed Al Habtoor, said, "The Dubai Gold Cup Series gets better and better each year. In a short space of time, The Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series has become the highest handicapped tournament in the region. The tournament, which started off as a 10-12 goal handicap in 2010, to a 16 goal handicap in 2014, has now increased even further to an 18 goal handicap this year. This shows that Dubai is now firmly on the world map as a polo destination."

Separately, 2015 marked the start of a new polo tournament, organised by Mohammed Al Habtoor, The Dubai Cup 2015, a medium goal competition for teams between 8-10 goals, and the winners were Bin Drai Polo.

Mohammed Al Habtoor added, "Credit has to go to all the patrons and the teams, who have supported the Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series. We have received tremendous support from the participating teams over the years which has helped  the growth of the sport in Dubai to a whole new level. We have big plans for the future for both the Dubai Gold Cup Series and Dubai Cup. In addition, in 2016 we'll open the St. Regis Al Habtoor Polo Resort & Club. This will be a great new addition to the Dubai polo circuit and the equestrian community as a whole."


England win first Copa de Las Naciones game

England won their first game of The Copa de Las Naciones tournament in Palermo yesterday against the Rest of The World with a final score of 9-8. They dominated in the first four chukkas in which the team had achieved a staggering 6 -1 lead by half-time. Led by Nico Pieres and Nachi Du Plessis, Rest of The World made an attempt at a comeback catching up by the final chukka, but it wasn’t to be.

The ten goalers move from Palm Beach to the Lawns of England

The arrival of the sun in England is not only announcing the start of the English Polo season, but also the imminent arrival of the ten goal ‘kings of polo’ who have been followed on an international stage as they played on the pitches of the International Polo Club Palm Beach via the internet on polo TV at thanks to the drones and live streaming from Horseplay Productions.

Ghantoot claims the Emirates International Polo Cup over Zidane

After the well-played game, Ghantoot has dedicated the title of the 14th edition of the Emirates International Open Polo tournament to His Highness Sheikh Falah bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Chairman of Ghantoot Racing and Polo Club in recognition and appreciation for his kindness in supporting the tournament and his keen follow-up to the ongoing activities the club enjoys, which has the sponsored by the Abu Dhabi Sports Council. Ghantoon snatched the title from the Saudi Zidane team by 15/9, on the other hand bin Drai team managed to go third by winning the against Desert Palm by 8/5.

Start of the Copa de Pascua

The past weekend marked the starting point of the 2015 Copa de Pascua at the Barralina Polo Club in Mallorca. Six teams compete against each other during this tournament, which is held for a period of three weekends. The final match will take place on 3rd May 2015.

Aspen Valley Polo Club, FlexJet Play Sunday In Hall Of Fame Cup At International Polo Club

Aspen Valley Polo Club will play FlexJet Sunday in the Hall of Fame Cup at International Polo Club Palm Beach at 10 a.m.

The subsidiary game of the 111th U.S. Open is presented by the Polo Museum and Hall of Fame.

Aspen Valley, a 20-goal team, features player-patron Grant Ganzi, at 16, the youngest player in the high goal game; Juancito Bollini, 2 goals, Miguel Novillo Astrada, 9 goals and Nic Roldan, 8 goals.
The lineup for FlexJet, a 21-goal team, is Leo Mandelbaum, 3 goals, Kris Kampsen, 6 goals, Piki Diaz Alberdi, 7 goals, and Juan Bollini, 5 goals